Year in review

Right, we’re nearly 24hrs into the New Year here..so, I figure why not update?

2013, seems to have been a bung year for a lot of people I know…a bit for me as well.  Actually, quite a bit.  The end of 2013 was a massive kick in the teeth if I’m honest.  The day after the 20th anniversary of my dad’s death, mum was diagnosed with cancer…again.  I have since then been trying to figure out the best way to deal with a rather bullying person in my life without hurting anyone…which there’s no way not to.  There was some work drama.  And I think I let an entire punnet of kiwi fruit go bad…

But, I forced myself to realize;  there were some good things in 2013 as well.

1. Started up a drama program for special needs students

-this in itself, was a massive accomplishment as, to be honest.  I’m always a bit worried of my abilities.  But I pushed past them and fucking did it!

2. It was wildly popular, not only that, fun and I got to see a lot of kids gain confidence

-can I just say?  this made all the craziness and stresses from it…WORTH IT!
3. I got my second visa

-YAY!  looks like I’m working on my next
4. While I lost friends,I gained friends

-yep.  There were some devastating blows in that realm.  won’t lie.  However, I also strengthened some friendships and made lots of new ones here!

5. I got to see family, friends and my dog who i hadn’t seen in over a year!

-Let’s just say, the look on your dog’s face when he sees you walk in…unforgettable.  I still miss the wee devil.

6. My relationship with Michael got better and better

-Yes.  I adore the guy to pieces and I think we’re learning how to work together in this relationship pretty well.

7. I got two tattoos that mean so much to me and tell more about me

-I nearly cried upon recieving my thistle.  I’ll say that for now

8. I realized performance goals for the future

-This was a big deal actually.  I was feeling a bit lost.  Once I sussed out what I’d like to do, I got back to imagining and plotting rather than feeling bitter.

9. I got back into Scottish dancing 

-sadly, not enough.  fixing that.

 

I don’t necessarily like the term “resolution” it just seems almost set up to be a bit out of reach and so many people wind up frustrated (I’ve found myself in that rut), but I like to have goals anyway…however, I don’t think I really had any past setting up the drama program…so, when it was finished in October or when I had no work to do…I felt..lost.  So, things I hope to aspire to 

1.) Become more healthy bodywise, mindwise, emotionwise.

2.) make my drama program even better

3.) on that note, balance work/creative time equally and fit in some time for play.

4.) get my arse on stage!!!

5.) Become a better Scottish dancer (step and country)

6.)  Get back to playing violin!

7.) identify and learn to let go of people and things that are toxic…

8.) not worry so much

9.) never let anyone invalidate my emotions.

10.) sketch and blog more!

 

right, that’s all for now…sort of a fluff post.  but that’s what you get after a full day out and wiiiiiiine…

Leave a Reply

