Scottish Rage: Geek elitism

image from google, used by various sites including geekgirlproblems

So, I had hoped to have some more art up….but not so much (Friday, I swear!).  Anyway, something that’s been on my mind for awhile…as in a couple years.

So, I fully embrace being a geek.  Since I was young, I remember watching episodes of Star Trek (Original and TNG), Star Wars, Doctor Who and Ghostbusters with my Dad…also, avidly watching him play Atari (ok, yeah…that dates me a bit..shutup).  Aside from the shows and movies I loved as a developing geek girl, I developed an interest in science, arts and history.  I loved all these things…however, once kids started realizing what was “cool” I was told what I liked was unacceptable.

As an adult, I found many more people who were like me and enjoyed all those things…and even found my stories of hiding spiderman comics in Seventeen magazines when I was briefly accepted into the popular crowd (moving to a new town, nobody really knows much about you seems to make you cool) entertaining.

Geekdom has become more mainstream, it’s no longer a negative thing necessarily.   Mostly.

With the popularity, or acceptance…it almost seems like the geek community has turned on itself.  This is something I’ve seen in person, online, at Cons, etc.

Geekier than thou

There seem to be pockets of people with more geek cred than anyone else.  As such, they snub anyone not as “geeky” as them…how is this any better than the people who snubbed us for being geeks?  I find it just as annoying personally.  Part of me has to wonder though, when most of us adult geeks were young…it wasn’t socially acceptable to be who we are, people were ridiculed, beat up and snubbed.  Are we just acting out a sort of vengence now that we’re in a position to?  Doesn’t make it right, does it?  

New Geeks

So, ok…when someone gets into this nerdy thing (that you’ve known about FOR-EV-ER), they get excited,  vocal, perhaps like you were when you first discovered that same thing years ago.  Rather than sharing in the excitement, there are eyerolls and “hipster geek” attitudes (ex: “Man, I was so into that like 5 years ago when it wasn’t cool”)…hell, I can even admit I’ve been guilty of this before, am I proud of it? no.  Do I roll my eyes at myself for that behavior? yes.  Why not, instead of being a snob (and yeah, I realize this all kinda’ ties into the Geekier than Thou rant)..we share that excitement.  I mean, someone loves something you do, share the love!

Cute Geek Girls

Oh man, I have been ranting on this for awhile now.  So, with the fact being a geek is more acceptable..a bit more mainstream…more people are coming out geeks.  Hell, some of these people are, dare I say it, “hot”.  I get that people feel their territory is being tread on…however, stop and think for a minute;  The girl who is now at a Con, in a catwoman costume, may have years ago been the awkward girl in braces.  Just sayin’, people can change as the years go on.  But instead, they’re even made fun of…”pfft..she can’t possible know anything about Doctor Who, she looks like she moisturizes 3 times a day” “She’s trying too hard in that Laura Croft costume, she probably has never played Tomb Raider”

Shite, this actually affected me personally before.  During a conversation at a Con, we were discussing bullying and someone actually said

“you wouldn’t know what it was like for us, you’re too pretty to understand”

Too. pretty. to. understand.

Let me e’splain something to you…No, I’m not horrible looking.  However, I fully admit I can be a bit awkward, I get socially anxious, I’ll sit back and observe people randomly…and when talking about school days, this was all times 10…add onto it that I had braces, I didn’t dress cool…I loved Jurassic Park…from age 8 – 14 I was bullied.  I was pushed onto the pavement, rocks kicked at my face, called more names than I’d like to recount, kids threw their food at me during lunch.  Eventually, the braces came off…I moved to a different town and had a reprieve for a year…I was still shoved into lockers, teased by the jocky kids, even called a lesbian (I’d like to think I at least would have good taste if I were….and also, quite lame that THAT was used in a negative connotation, all things considered) for most of highschool, but I also had a good base of friends from band and theatre to go to.

Trust me, I understand.

A good chunk of the time, no matter how a person looks there is more to them on the inside;  they’ve had their share of sadness, made their mistakes and had their triumphs.

Overall though,  being a geek has made me a stronger person and being a part of a few geek communities has been an even more awesome experience!  Holy hell, we are fun people!  and the rest of the world is seeing that!  I just recently saw Wil Wheaton’s “Why it’s awesome to be a nerd”  and I loved the quote “It’s not about what you love…it’s about how you love it”.  We all came together because of the things we love.  just keep that in mind.  cheers!

Ps.  for listening to my rants, I will try to have some minor goodies up tomorrow…but a full thing of awesome Friday (that’s NZ Friday)!

4 thoughts on “Scottish Rage: Geek elitism

  1. Darling, i was never happier than when I returned to my first HS to visit a friend and discovered that the shyest boy in my grade (also from the poorest family) – theone even the teachers publicly humiliated (don’t get me started on that right now!) – had turned into a full blown model-hot sex god! I was so pleased for him, and truly hope he got to go to college and find out how fabulous he is. 😀

    What one looks like has nothing to do with what one experienced as a child/teen.

    Hugs and love!

  2. when elitist geeks try and hog their precious territory, they are excluding people based on looks, gender, inexperience, lack of “geek cred”. oddly enough these are the some of the exact things that a lot of them were bullied for at school, so you think they’d be more understanding…

    • you would think, but it’s not always the case. Sadly. Ah, well…the best any of us can do is continue being who we are and ignore those who don’t find others good enough

Leave a Reply

